Chimichurri Chicken with Mexican Brown Rice

Chicken Chimichurri and Mexican Brown Rice

I’m on a serious health kick at the moment! I’m delving into the unknown world of lentils and chickpeas and beans! I must say I have really enjoyed feeling good and eating clean and knowing that my body is thanking me for what I am putting in and not groaning in desperation with all the work that I usually make it do!

I have been pleasantly surprised by the really great recipes out there with healthy ingredients. Previously when I wanted to eat healthy I would end up dying of boredom just a few weeks in and revert to tastier (unhealthier) options. But I am happy to say that I will be trying some really healthy (interesting) recipes that are full of wonderful flavours and popping them onto the blog for your enjoyment too!

I made this last night and was delighted with how it turned out. If you are watching your fat intake then go easier on the chimichurri on your serving, but otherwise it is packed with gorgeous flavours and so so good for you!

The mexican rice is so fresh and tastes really authentic! If you are a coriander fan, I would throw some in the mix here too as I think it will add a lovely punch. although it actually doesn’t need it!

Just a tip if you are not used to cooking brown rice. The brown basmati is divine and it takes an extra 10 minutes to cook. So bear that in mind.

ENJOY!

For the Chimichurri:

2 packets (60g) Italian Flat Leaf Parsley

½ Packet (15g) oreganum

4 garlic cloves

3 Tbsp (45 mls) white balsamic vinegar

1 – 2 tsp (5 – 10mls) dried chilli flakes

½ cup (125ml) olive oil

Salt and milled pepper

 

4 fresh chicken skinless filleted breasts, flattened

1 cup (25oml) brown basmati rice, cooked

1 tsp (5ml) cumin seeds

2 spring onions, finely chopped

½ small can (17-g) corn kernels drained and rinsed

1 packet (350g) mixed cherry tomatoes, halved

1 can (400g) kidney beans, drained and rinsed

 

  • Blitz chimichurri ingredients together until smooth. Reserve half and pour remaining mixture over chicken breasts. Refrigerate, covered for 30 minutes.
  • Toss the rice with the cumin, spring onions, corn, tomatoes, kidney beans and seasoning.
  • Heat a griddle pan, drain excess marinade from chicken and cook for about 7 minutes on each side or until charred and cooked through.
  • Serve chicken with rice, reserved chimichurri and lime wedges.

 

Serves 4

Recipe and Photo from the Fresh Living Magazine

One thought on “Chimichurri Chicken with Mexican Brown Rice

Leave a comment