Buttermilk Rusks

DSCN2885

 

A true South African Classic! And a super easy recipe! Winner!

 

1kg self raising flour

250g butter

250ml sugar

500ml buttermilk

2 eggs

5ml salt

 

– Beat eggs and sugar until light and foamy

– Add buttermilk

– In a separate bowl, sift the flour and salt together and then rub in the butter.

– Add the buttermilk mixture to the flour and butter mixture.

– Shape dough into balls the shape of eggs.

– Place in greased loaf tins packed closely together

– Bake at 180 C for 50 – 60 minutes

– Leave to cool in the pan for 30 minutes before turning out and allowing to cool completely.

– Once completely cool, use a knife to separate the rusks, place on a clean baking tray and allow to dry out at 70 C for 4 – 5 hours, or overnight. (overnight is better)

 

2 thoughts on “Buttermilk Rusks

  1. Love this – Love all the recipes Lins. I can’t wait until I am settled in my own place now. Then I can really start my planning.

    Love you.

Leave a comment